Just a self-trained home cook in an 8' x 12' kitchen honing his craft…

Chocolate oblivion

Last week, a fellow baker from Hawaii, Hector Wong- My Yellow Kitchen who I know through Rose Levy Beranbaum’s blog site, real baking with Rose was making all sort of variations of the Baby Chocolate Oblivions from Rose’s latest book Rose’s Heavenly Cakes. I had seen the recipe and thought I would do it someday.

After Hector’s postings, I decided I should try these, but for my first attempt would stick to the recipe as written. How good could four very basic ingredients turn out? The list is simple and items you most likely have on hand- butter, chocolate(of course!), sugar and eggs. There are no difficult techniques here and a regular muffin tin with cupcake liners would certainly work as well as the silicone pan I used(which I had schlepped back from France before the days of strict luggage weight limitations). Maybe the hardest part was the 4 hour or overnight chill during which time I had to keep household fingers, including my own, out of the muffin pan.

The mix is simple: melt butter, chocolate and sugar together; heat eggs over simmering water until they are warm to the fingertip, then put the mixer to them until they double/triple in volume. Fold the two together, fill the pan, bake and VIOLA!

Silicone muffin pan- straight sides.


The chocolate/egg/sugar mix are gently folded to maintain the volume of the eggs. The eggs were gently heated, then beaten until tripled in volume.


Fresh from the oven. They bake in a bain marie(water bath).

Embarrassingly, it was 2 days before I got around to serving these luscious little gems, but the sojourn in the refrigerator didn’t hurt them at all.

I whipped some heavy cream, lightly sweetened it and flavored with vanilla, piped it atop, added a brandied cherry and mint sprig and they were ready for service.

Everyone gets their own cake with a swirl of lightly sweetened whipped cream...

...with a brandied cherry and mint sprig.

And after the first ambrosial bites...

I will experiment with other variations using mocha and espresso, but I’m not sure anything could be more satisfying than this! It really was chocolate oblivion.

Toujours, bon appétit!

© Kyle Nelson

Leave a Reply

